10 thoughts on “Do you do any of these things?

  1. I agree with many of these points but especially the oversharing. Talkative people will be talkative, but you shouldn’t go about spouting personal information (social security number, credit card information, address, etc.) without checking to see who else might be listening.

  2. Good information on how to keep yourself protected against thief’s online and how to protect your personal information and security.

  3. I like this article because it shares valuable information on how to protect yourself and personal information

  4. I think that the information in this article is getting more important by the day and more people should realize that they are putting themselves at risk for identity theft. The simple password problem seems especially dangerous, but, luckily, it is easily fixable.

  5. I really think it is important to know things like these when sharing on social media or making passwords. Identity theft seems to be getting easier, so we need to be smarter about sharing our personal information.

  6. After reading this article I realized that I do a few of these risky things. I use the same password for almost everything, and I know that that isn’t smart, but in my opinion, it’s only social media, if someone hacks that, so what? The only password protected things that matter are your personal and bank information. This article opened my eyes and reminded me that I need to be safe and careful with my banking and personal information. It gave me good tips like not over sharing on social media, not sending sensitive content over email, and updating apps and devices frequently so that it isn’t as easy for a hacker to get into your accounts.

  7. I think the most ironic thing about articles like these is the overwhelming response of people who talk about realizing what horrible habits they have. The ironic thing is that no matter how many people read this, a small amount will put this into practice. Are we really absorbing information? Do we care about our privacy at all? A lot of this is not new information, so why do so many people act surprised when we’re told not to overshare on social media or to use more secure passwords? We care after we read the article, but do we care an hour later when we announce to Twitter that we’ve left the house for a week?

  8. It’s an uneasy feeling to know there are people out there trying to hack people’s personal information for their own agenda. I shouldn’t have to change passwords frequently, lie outrageously or come up with super complex passwords. America is supposed to be a free nation but I don’t feel free if I have to constantly check all my belongings, material or virtual, to see if someone trying to rob me. Sadly though that’s the world we live in and after reading this article I need to change some of my habits to further protect my belongings.

  9. After reading this article, I realized that I partake in several of these habits without even thinking twice about them. For example, I use the same password for a lot of my login accounts. Although it isn’t what most people consider a “weak” password, it would be easy for someone to hack into my accounts if they somehow got a hold of it. Not only am I guilty of of that, but I also fall short to a majority of the points presented in this article. Just like me, there are several people who don’t know the importance of breaking these bad habits that seem small, but it could save you a lot of trouble in the long run.

  10. The information that this article showed is very helpful to protect yourself as much as possible from identity theft. Many people show a lot of their everyday life on social media, and that can be dangerous if they aren’t careful. I do use the same password for multiple accounts and that can make it easier for someone to get my information, but also will not use the same password for my important bank information.

Leave a comment